Napoleon Hill- Lesson 11: Controlled Attention


Napoleon Hill said, “When you voluntarily fix your attention on a definite major purpose of a positive nature, and force your mind through daily habits of thought to dwell on the subject, you condition your subconscious mind to act on that purpose.”

This is another one of those lessons where I am hoping to learn more myself. At times, I am under stress I find that I have this head full of competing thoughts, ideas, and problems.  It is like being in a crowded room where everyone is talking. At times I cannot turn it off and it pushes me toward fight or flight mode.

However, when I become totally “sold out” and am passionate about something I can focus on it like a laser. The ideas fly and my mind is centered.

Some folks are very “task oriented” and never seem to have this problem and you are able to take one item from your list, complete it and move on.

The thing that I have found that helps me focus is to go back to my mission and purpose.  I try to concentrate on the activities and actions that move me closer to my goals and purpose.

Decide on your definite purpose.

If the tasks are more mundane (yet necessary), I try to remember that finishing them quickly and getting back to working on my passion. The things that bring me joy, moves me closer to my purpose and mission.

John Maxwell teaches that success can be found in our daily agenda.

“Most people have no idea of the giant capacity we can immediately command when we focus all of our resources on mastering a single area of our lives.” Anthony Robbins

Phil is one of only one thousand leaders worldwide (representing nearly 100 countries) to be trained and certified by John C. Maxwell & his team, as part of the founder’s circle of coaches, speakers and teachers. http://about.me/phil.vanover
He is an experienced leader who brings a passionate, positive approach to developing people, driving sales through delivering outstanding customer service. Phil can bring training on leadership, service and personal growth to your organization.
You can sign up for Phil’s email newsletter and get a free gift from John Maxwell here FREE GIFT
You can email him with questions or comments @ philvanover@johnmaxwellgroup.com or call at 252 452-7945
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

