That’s a Great Question


The end of 2012 is racing at us faster than any of us would like to admit. I know we all have our social, work and shopping calendars full, but it is time to start preparing for next year.

In his Book Thinking for a Change, my mentor John C Maxwell says “Experience alone does not add value to a life . . . it’s the insight people gain because of their experience. . . . An experience becomes valuable when it informs or equips us to meet new experiences.” “Some of the most valuable thoughts you’ve ever had may have been lost because you didn’t give yourself the reflection time you needed.”

Find some time between now and when the big ball drops in Times Square to sit down, reflect on 2012, and set up 2013 to be your best year yet.

What makes a good question?

·        They are solution oriented.

·        They are possibility oriented.

·        They do not place blame.

·        They are clear.

·        They make you think deeper or differently.

That rules out questions such as “Why do I always have bad luck?”  “Why am I so stupid?”  “Why can’t I get what I want out of life?”  These questions lead your mind to think about all the negatives that it can dream up and send you in the wrong direction.

Here are a few good questions to get you started.

  1. What did I do that made me laugh, smile and feel alive?
  2. What were my biggest accomplishments?
  3. What was I doing when I felt most alive?
  4. What would I have done differently?
  5. What did I do that I do not want to do again?
  6. What still feels undone or incomplete to me?
  7. What did I do right? What do I feel especially good about?
  8. What was my greatest contribution?
  9. What were my biggest challenges/roadblocks/difficulties?
  10. For what am I particularly grateful?
  11. What few things could I focus on each day that would move me towards my top goals faster than anything else would?

I would love to hear your favorite questions for reflection.

Zig Ziglar

I want to close the post by noting the passing of motivational speaker and trainer Zig Ziglar this week. Zig touched and will continue to touch millions of lives. I know he touched mine.  Here are some questions he often asked audiences from the stage.

  •  If I earn millions of dollars, but destroy my health in the process, is that success?
  • If I become the best in my industry, but neglect my family and friends, is that success?
  • If I acquire great wealth and notoriety, but compromise my integrity and faith to do so, is that success?

 As a coach, I can help you sit down, review your year, and help you ask the questions to move you forward on 2013.  Contact me so that we can discuss how having a coach can move your career forward.

 

Phil is one of only one thousand leaders worldwide (representing nearly 100 countries) to be trained and certified by John C. Maxwell & his team, as part of the founder’s circle of coaches, speakers and teachers. http://www.johncmaxwellgroup.com/philvanover/
Phil works with organizations and individuals to increase sales, productivity and profitability by helping them improve their leadership, sales and customer service skills. He offers workshops, seminars, speaking, and coaching on delivering extraordinary customer service, leadership, and personal development.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Achievement, Business, enthusiasm, growth, Leadership, life, passion, success

Leave a Reply

