Life Lessons that my mom taught me


This weekend we will celebrate our mothers and thank them for all they have done. If you are a mom I salute you and all you do for your children.

Mothers serve by loving unconditionally, putting the needs of others ahead of their own. They lead, by teaching, influencing and coaching every step of the way. They see true success as the success of their children.

To a good mother the goal is not to be a great mother. It is to raise great kids.

I hope I have made mine a little bit proud.

 
306074_417900381557555_942365118_a

My mother had a unique name for a woman and Frankie Jane Vanover truly was a unique individual. She was a coal miner’s daughter, a pastor’s wife, a nurse, big sister and an outstanding mother to 3 boys.   She was Nana to her grandchildren, and a good friend to many.

I lost my mom in 1998 and a day does not go by, that I do not miss her or think of things she has taught me. I will always be grateful for the influence she had on my life and the lives of many others. These are but a few of the things I learned from her.

Have faith – The most important thing that I learned from Frankie Jane was to trust in the Lord. Her faith has positively influenced the lives of countless people.

Work hard – My mother worked hard. On the day she discovered that she had a collapsed lung, pneumonia and lung cancer she refused to go to seek treatment for herself until all of the patients in the office had been seen. I will always be grateful for her influence in this area of my life.

Love Unconditionally – No matter what we had done or messed up we could always come to her, because we knew that she would forgive us and help us learn from mistakes. She trusted us to do our best and when we didn’t she was never took it personally.

Take it all in stride – I know my mother was a worrier, but she never seemed to let her worries or frustrations get the best of her.  I don’t ever remember her speaking in anger to anyone.

Believe in others and believe in yourself –  I learned to believe in people and expect the best from them because I saw her do that for me, my dad and my younger brothers.

Be kind to everyone – My mom helped everyone that she could. She did countless small quiet acts of kindness.  My mom truly left people better off than they were when they met her.

Try new things – She pushed us to try new things. Sometimes I will eat (Well too often I eat) a certain food and my mind goes back to the memory of her convincing me that this food would be good if I would only try it.

Have a plan but remain flexible. –  I have seen my mom make plans and then be able to change and improvise without ever showing frustration.

Don’t take your self too seriously – My mom could laugh at herself and by her example we learned that we do some pretty crazy things sometimes and it is healthy to not be too serious.

The Bible says “Honor your father and your mother.” For me that has never been a hard commandment. I was blessed with mom!  Happy Mother’s Day.

Contact me to find out more about how I can work with you and your team to develop a culture of excellent service.

Find out more about my services

What people are saying

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under life, mother

Leave a Reply

